161 N. Arnold Ave Prestonsburg, KY 41653 | Phone (606) 886-2981
You Are Here: Home » Kids » Recommended Reading

Recommended Reading

• Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 1922-Present

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year. On June 22, 1921, Frederic G. Melcher proposed the award to the American Library Association meeting of the Children’s Librarians’ Section and suggested that it be named for the eighteenth-century English bookseller John Newbery. The Newbery Award became the first children’s book award in the world. Its terms and its long history continue to make it the best known and most discussed children’s book award in this country.

Newbery Award Books

• Caldecott Medal Winners

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book.

Caldecott Award Books

Kids & Family Events

  • No Events
Scroll To Top